The Dirty DUI

Last night was the worst night of my life! I received a DUI on my way home from dinner with a girlfriend.

My girlfriend, Sue, had recently split with her boyfriend, who will remain nameless. Its wasn’t a horrible breakup, but it wasn’t easy either. Sue had been with him for over 2 years so while it was the best move for her long-term, the short term there is heart break.

Sue was feeling down, so she called and asked if I wanted to goto dinner. Being the good friend that I am, I sure. She choose the Pepper Tree Restaurant, just west of I-25. Its one of the best steak houses in Colorado Springs.

While I’m not a big steak fan, I ended up going with steak and mashed potatoes. Sue had the same thing. We split a nice bottle of merlot. Knowing she was feeling down, I thought I might have to drive us both home. So I had 1 1/2 glasses and she had the rest of the bottle.

After dinner, I told Sue I would take here home, since she had about 3 glasses of wine. On or way home I was getting onto I-25 north at 87. I had to speed up to get past and 18 wheeler to safely merge onto the highway.

There was a Colorado State trooper sitting on the shoulder. As soon as I passed him he flipped on his lights and got right behind me. I didn’t think much of this because I wasn’t really speeding.

The officer approached the car and indicated he was pulling me over for an unsafe merge. He then asked me I had been drinking. I told him the truth and said I had 1 1/2 glasses of wine.

He asked me to step out of the car. Then he proceeded to give me a roadside sobriety test. Let me tell you, all the scenes you see about roadside test are true, walk the line, say your alphabet etc, etc.  Let me tell you walking the line in 5″ heels is not the easiest thing to do.

Then came the big test, he did a roadside Breathalyzer. I blew a 0.09%. One percentage point more then the legal limit the state of Colorado.

He said,”please turn around and place your hands behind your back.” After that everything became a blur. The last thing I remember was getting into an Uber with Sue.

So if you know a good Colorado Springs DUI Attorney please drop me a message.